About Me

IMG_2543.JPGMy name is Madison. I’m from Phoenix, Arizona. I grew up on the outside of town in the suburbs where I spent my time figure skating and playing softball. I graduated Northern Arizona University in 2015 with a degree in Psychological Sciences with a minor in Biology. After graduation, I worked at the Children’s Health Center at Flagstaff Medical Center as a Rehab Tech and then as an Audiology Tech where I gave newborn babies their hearing screenings. I currently attend Midwestern University where I am studying for my Master’s in Occupational Therapy. I’m projected to graduate in 2018.

I was diagnosed with anxiety at a very, very young age after my family noticed I had panic attacks every time bad weather would occur. It wasn’t until college that I realized that I had panic disorder. It got to a point where an attack would occur with no clear trigger. Luckily, as I mature, I’ve learned self-soothing techniques and I have the ability to keep it under control.

I have a dear friend that I met while living in my college town who is incredible at embroidery. One day, she gave me a hoop and some of her thread and we stitched together. I thought it was awesome and wanted to continue but I felt I was too busy to maintain a hobby. About a year later, I went through a time where someone had severely let me down. That along with physical health issues, left me in a really bad place. I figured, in order to get through it, I needed a distraction. That is when I picked up the hoop again. The first (complete) embroidery I made was around this time and it was a floral design, inspired by a tattoo I had gotten with my sister. It read “it will be okay”. And everything ended up being okay!

Fun Facts:

I have a cat named Moho which stands for the Model of Human Occupation, a theory that is commonly used among Occupational Therapists.

I have a dog named Johnnie Mae which, weirdly enough, is named after my Grandma.

I have the same middle name as my Dad, Sister, 4 Aunts, 2 Uncles, Grandpa, Grandma, and Great Grandpa.

My middle name is Lee.

I’m a fourth generation native to Arizona.

I like to play ping pong.

I thoroughly enjoy watching documentaries. I often end up on wikipedia binges while watching a documentary.

I like to drink a good beer while sitting on a patio.